## **Ordinance XXI**

## **Appointment of Deans of Faculties and Tenure of Office**

(Version effective from 24 July 2007 until 31 July 2011)

## 1. Appointment of Deans of Faculties

Deans of Faculties shall be appointed on the recommendation of a Joint Committee of Senate and Council chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. Deans shall hold office for such periods and on such terms and conditions and shall have such functions as the Council may from time to time determine, after receiving the advice of the Vice-Chancellor.

## 2. Tenure of Office

- (i) The Deans shall be appointed for three years in the first instance. Appointments may be extended by further periods of office. Each period of office shall be up to three years. He/she shall not be eligible for re-appointment to the office of Dean for a period of three years after his/her retirement.
- (ii) Deans of Faculties shall normally be appointed from among the professors of the University.
- (iii) The same procedures will be applied for extension of appointments as pertain for initial appointments.

(remade July 2007)